ETCSLcreditsSignSign name: GAM
Values: gam, gur2, gurum

Credits and copyright

Project members

  • Jeremy Black (1951–2004), editor and project director (1997–2004)
  • John Baines, project director (2004–2006)
  • Graham Cunningham, senior editor
  • Jacob L. Dahl, project director (2008– )
  • Jarle Ebeling, technical developer
  • Esther Flückiger-Hawker, editor
  • Eleanor Robson, technical developer and project associate
  • Jon Taylor, editor and project associate
  • Marc Van De Mieroop, project director (2006–2007)
  • Gábor Zólyomi, editor and project associate


If you wish to use or cite the corpus, please use the following form of citation:

Black, J.A., Cunningham, G., Ebeling, J., Flückiger-Hawker, E., Robson, E., Taylor, J., and Zólyomi, G., The Electronic Text Corpus of Sumerian Literature (, Oxford 1998–2006.

Copyright © J.A. Black, G. Cunningham, E. Robson, and G. Zólyomi 1998, 1999, 2000; J.A. Black, G. Cunningham, E. Flückiger-Hawker, E. Robson, J. Taylor, and G. Zólyomi 2001; J.A. Black, G. Cunningham, J. Ebeling, E. Robson, J. Taylor, and G. Zólyomi 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005; G. Cunningham, J. Ebeling, E. Robson, and G. Zólyomi 2006. The authors have asserted their moral rights.


The ETCSL, a project of the Faculty of Oriental Studies, the University of Oxford, received funding from the following bodies:

Gábor Zólyomi's work for the ETCSL project since 2001 was supported by the Hungarian Scientific Research Fund (OTKA) and by a János Bolyai Research Scholarship of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences.

Eleanor Robson's work for the ETCSL project was supported in 1997–2000 by a British Academy Postdoctoral Fellowship. She is now a Fellow of All Souls College, Oxford and a lecturer at Cambridge.


We thank Miguel Civil and Steve Tinney, whose contributions were fundamental to the shape and success of the project. Miguel's unpublished catalogue of Sumerian literature, the product of decades of brilliant and painstaking work, lies at the heart of the corpus. Steve's wisdom and expertise were crucial throughout, from the earliest planning stages to the final lemmatisation.

We are also extremely grateful to all those who have contributed source material to the project: Bendt Alster, Antoine Cavigneaux, Miguel Civil, Gertrud Farber, Andrew George, Geerd Haayer, Bram Jagersma, Joachim Krecher, Marie-Christine Ludwig, Piotr Michalowski, Martha Roth, Yitschak Sefati, Steve Tinney, Herman Vanstiphout, Niek Veldhuis, Konrad Volk, Christopher Walker, Claus Wilcke, and Annette Zgoll. Many other colleagues have given helpful advice, in particular Pascal Attinger, Cale Johnson, Alan Millard, and Nicholas Postgate. Four research students made essential contributions to the project: Ronan Head, Anne Löhnert, Naoko Ohgama, and Faimon Roberts.

Picture credits

We would like to credit the anonymous designer of the image on our webpages, but have been unable to track him or her down.

The image is a spoof of the upper register of the banquet side of the Standard of Ur. There is a photograph and an explanation of the original at the British Museum.

Sumerian scribe

© Copyright 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006 The ETCSL project, Faculty of Oriental Studies, University of Oxford
Updated 2006-10-23 by GC/JE

University of Oxford